Guide to Online Resources

August 21, 2012

Overlake's online resources are outlined below.  For additional help, please contact the front desk at 425-868-1000, or choose from our selection of short Video Tutorials.

OVERLAKE.ORG

To access the areas below, you must log in with your Owl-ID (your school-issued username and password):

MyBackpack

Online access to your child's schedule and grades.  Additionally, here you can change your password, update your contact info, and search the school directory.

Canvas Faculty Websites

Canvas is a robust Learning Management System (LMS) utilized by many colleges and universities as well as K-12 schools.  In general, parents of US students will have no access to Canvas courses.  In grades 5-7, parents will have limited access to course materials.  To learn more about Canvas visit their website.

  • For information about how Canvas is used at The Overlake School, visit the Canvas FAQ or contact the Overlake Help Desk at tech@overlake.org.
  • Parents of students in grades 5-7 can access instructions here on how to use their Observer access.

Forms Portal

Overlake's parent portal for online forms and registrations.  Forms are student-specific, so parents with multiple students at Overlake will see a form link for each child.

  • Login issues? Contact mbpsupport@overlake.org.
  • Technical issues? Contact webmaster@overlake.org.
  • If you have follow-up questions about a specific form, please use the contact information posted in the right sidebar of each form.

The Overlake School Library

The Overlake Library has a variety of online resources including the catalog, an e-book collection, over 33 subscription databases, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Infobase, and Noodle Tools.
For information, visit the library website or contact: Ann Ewel at aewel@overlake.org or 425-868-6191 x647.

Outdoor Program Website

Learn about and register for upcoming Outdoor trips.
Contact: Kent Renno at krenno@overlake.org.

Project Week Website

Learn about and register for Project Week.
Contact: Joey Pauley at jpauley@overlake.org.

Service Learning Website

Students log in to submit and view their community service hours and learn about service opportunities.
Contact: Beth Highland at bhighland@overlake.org.

 

THIRD-PARTY WEBSITES

The following resources are external sites and require a different username and password:

Family Connection
Information on college & career planning, learning resources, personal counseling, college scholarships, summer enrichment and Counseling & Advising department programs.
For registration code, contact: Hannah Moskat at 425-868-6191 x659 or hmoskat@overlake.org.

Tandem School Calendar
Please note: Registration for this service is only necessary if you intend to schedule events or subscribe to notifications.  
The "Tandem Calendar" is an enhanced web-based calendar and scheduling service. Besides being able to view the detailed monthly calendar, you can also customize your own calendar view and subscribe to have it delivered to your personal digital devices. You can find instructional "How-To" guides below.

 

ADDITIONAL SERVICES

BlackBoard Connect Emergency Notification Service
If school is closed, or hours are revised due to weather or another emergency, BlackBoard Connect notifies you via phone and text message.  This service is tested at the beginning of the school year.
Contact: Margaret Lynch, x690 or mlynch@overlake.org.